Hopeful

I felt out of sorts yesterday, as I’m sure many of us did all over the world.

I don’t want to overemphasize events in the U.S. as opposed to elsewhere, but I do feel that the events of 9-11 sent reverberations far beyond our borders.

The aftermath of that day have included two wars, numerous tensions in other countries and the deaths of thousands.

It’s one of the ultimate tragedies of our time.

Despite the fact that there has been extraordinarily bad behavior on the part of many Americans, both on a large scale and on a small scale, there is cause for hope.

In case you aren’t aware of these small pockets of hope and sanity, I wanted to share them with you:

Here is a report on an interfaith conference in D.C. that calls for support for the Park51/Cordoba House project in New York City. (And by the way, do you know that there are worship spaces planned for both Jews and Christians in that same building?)

Nicholas Kristof profiled these two amazing women who are trying to turn their personal losses of 9-11 into a program to help Afghan widows.

And through the wonderful blog, Guilia Geranium, I learned about this fabulous project – The Girl Effect.

So what I did with my feelings of distress and disaffection was to send money out into cyberspace to young women all over the planet who are trying to make a difference.

What did you do to observe 9-11 yesterday?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Hopeful

  1. I simply didn’t.
    It happened, it was awful and it has led to nothing but the deterioration of American society, in my opinion.
    An act that should have strengthened America in the long run has instead led to squabbling and pettiness and a blatant loss of rights and I think it’s a sick, sad way to commemorate the innocent and/or heroic lives lost.
    I try to live my life as I hope others lead theirs, with the goals of tolerance, understanding and acceptance for others. In doing so I try daily to honor any human being who lost their life to the violent intolerance and bigotry of others by being a person who strives to lead an existence apart from said intolerance.

  2. Susan says:

    Jen–thanks for the shout out. I’m trying to digest above comment. That’s great to live that way every day but to act like it was nothing is just as bad as harping on it endlessly. Hmm. I’m not sure any of us can lead a life “apart from said intolerance.” Unless someone does not leave their abode, you are in it–whether you want to be or not. I just returned from a festival where supposedly enlightened people yawped at me for an hour about Muslims. I don’t try to change their minds–some folks just like to argue, it would seem. But to do something positive, yep.

    Will be attending another conference soon, yay for Nick, & those wonderful women, esp. Susan. And one would think, hope, fervently wish that people know why ‘Cordoba’ was chosen. Alas. Remember Pogo? “I have met the enemy & he is us.”

    Cheers & good Sunday night (Monday morning to Antipodean pals).

  3. Goofball says:

    I’m afraid 9-11 past unobserved by me this year

  4. Karen Olson says:

    I didn’t observe it, either. I turned on MSNBC in the morning and saw they were replaying in real time what happened that morning. I promptly shut off the TV. I saw it in real time. I was at work, the only one in an empty newsroom, when someone from advertising came in and said I should turn on the TV. I’ll never forget that day, watching, shocked, and having to go onto autopilot as I produced the newspaper’s afternoon special edition.

    It also hits me hard that we came together as a country that day and for a short time after, everyone with little flags stuck to their car windows, feeling so patriotic. And then…our privacy was invaded, we could no longer take shampoo on the plane in our carryon, our library books were being scrutinized, we ended up in a war we should never have started, the list goes on and on.

    We’ve gone downhill since 9/11/01. And we are still on the decline. While I am saddened for those who lost their lives, the fight over building a mosque and that crazy man wanting to burn the Koran is frustrating and disturbing.

Leave a Reply

